Announcement of the winners of the second round of the East Coast Music Awards in Fredericton

Another set of winners was announced Sunday at the annual East Coast Music Awards in Fredericton.

The awards luncheon honored approximately 40 of Atlantic Canada’s finest musicians and industry leaders.

Halifax electronic music duo Pineo and Loeb won Dance Recording of the Year for their song “Good Vibe Feeling,” and Prince Edward Island musician Scott MacKay won country recording of the year for his song “Stupid Cupid”.

Read more:

Fredericton businesses eager for events to attract tourists

Halifax pop group Hillsburn have won the most East Coast Music Awards, with three wins.

Singers Mallory Johnson, Morgan Toney and Zamani each won two awards.

The main awards ceremony at the Aitken Center on Thursday night marked the first time a live audience has come together to celebrate award-winning musicians since 2019.

The story continues under the ad

Here is a list of the winners:

— Blues Recording of the Year: Campbell and Johnston’s Black Market Band – Self-titled album

– Children’s Artist of the Year: Gordie Crazylegs MacKeeman

— Classical Composer of the Year: Amy Brandon

— Classical Recording of the Year: Maureen Batt and Grej — “Lighthouse”

— Country Recording of the Year: Scott MacKay — “Stupid Cupid”

— Dance recording of the year: Pindeo and Loeb — “Good Vibe Feeling”

— Electronic Record of the Year: Paragon Cause — “Autopilot”

— Folk Recording of the Year: The Gilberts — “Tell Me”

— World Record of the Year: Undersized Fish — “The Drift”

– Inspirational Recording of the Year: Morgan Toney – “First Flight”

— Instrumental Recording of the Year: Andy Creeggan — “Andiwork IV”

— Jazz Recording of the Year: Steve Amirault — “Montreal Jazz Trio”

– Strong recording of the year: Botfly – “Lower Than Love”

The story continues under the ad

— Pop Recording of the Year: Hillsburn — “Slipping Away”

— R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: Zamani — “Selfich”

— Rising Star Recording of the Year: Paragon Cause — “Autopilot”

— Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year: Adam Young — “Yearbook”

Industry Awards

— Innovative Artist of the Year: Mallory Johnson

— Business of the Year: side door access

— Event of the year: Levee on the lake

— Industry Innovator of the Year: Ultimate Online Kitchen Party in Nova Scotia

— Management/Manager of the Year: Sonic Entertainment Group

— Media of the Year: First Light Fridays

— Media Person of the Year: Greg Smith

— Producer of the Year: Corey LeRue

— Studio Engineer of the Year: Thomas Stajcer

— Studio of the Year: The Sonic Temple

The story continues under the ad

— Video Director of the Year: Cecil Johnson


— Induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame: 1755 — “the world is changing”

— Special Direction by the Director: Patsy Gallant

— Bucky Adams Memorial Award: Tachichi, Tyrone Thompson

— Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award: Cutting Crew

— Industry Builder Award: Le Grenier Musique, Carol Doucet

— Musician’s Award of Excellence: Yvette Lorraine

— Stompin’ Tom Award: Buddy MacDonald, Jean Surette, Gordon Quinton, Charles Austin, Scott Parsons

This report from The Canadian Press was first published on May 8, 2022.

© 2022 The Canadian Press

About Joan J. Hernandez

Check Also

Industry Reaction to Stamp Duty Reduction Announcement – Show House

Following the announcement of the Kwasi Kwarteng mini budget earlier today and the inclusion of …