Flogging Molly releases new album ‘Anthem’ on September 9th – Their first in five years (Listen here)

Flogging Molly releases new album ‘Anthem’ on September 9th – Their first in five years (Listen here)

Since its creation, Flogging Molly were dogged by the term “Celtic Punk Rock” (for better or worse), a term that doesn’t begin to describe the Irish stew of influences the band can whip up.

Sure, Dublin-born lead singer Dave King has a good Irish brogue, and yes, they use a tin whistle, and okay, the band’s early amplified work evokes the beer atmosphere of punk pubs. -rock and sea shanties, but the band’s melodic and instrumental sophistication draws inspiration from a wide range of traditional and modern musical styles.

On September 9, Flogging Molly releases her brand new album. Anthem on Rise Records, and fans of mosh-pits and the Dropkick Murphys won’t be disappointed, but neither will fans of traditional folk-rock, the Pogues, dance and pure old American rock. But listen below…

Reunited with famed producer/engineer Steve Albini (Nirvana, PJ Harvey, Pixies, the Breeders), this is the band’s first new record in 5 years. Albini also produced some Flogging Molly fan favorites bluster and drunken lullabies.

You can pre-order Anthem on CD from our Rock Cellar Store HERE
You can pre-order Anthem on Vinyl LP from our Rock Cellar Store HERE

Check out a video for the new single “This Road Of Mine” by Anthem:

About the song, vocalist/guitarist Dave King says, “As I was writing these lyrics, I was wondering if we were going to be able to keep touring and making music again…I’m not one to shy away from a situation in the sense of writing about it; I think that’s what songwriters should do, they should reflect the times.

Here is a video with a live version of “The Croppy Boy ’98” off Anthem

And watch “These Moments Had Me Drinking/Tumbling Down the Stairs”

Flogging Molly’s current lineup consists of Dave King (vocals, acoustic guitar, bodhran), Bridget Regan (fiddle, whistle, vocals), Dennis Casey (guitar, vocals), Matt Hensley (accordion, concertina, vocals), Nathen Maxwell (bass guitar, vocals), Spencer Swain (mandolin, banjo, guitar, vocals) and Mike Alonso (drums, percussion).

List of tracks for Anthem

1. These times got me drunk
2. A Freedom Song
3. Life begins and ends (but never fails)
4. No Last Goodbyes
5. The Croppy Boy ’98
6. This Road of Mine
7. (Try) Keep the man down
8. It’s Time
9. Paving the way
10. These are the days
11. The Wave of Separation

Flogging Molly Live on Tour 2022. Photo left: Sebastian Goeß

Flogging Molly is currently touring Europe and will return to the US on September 9 – co-headlining with The Interrupters, who have just had a smash hit with their brand new album. In nature. Learn more about The Interrupters HERE.

US Tour Dates:

September 9 Denver, CO Mission Ballroom Outdoors
September 10 Dillon, CO Dillon Amphitheater
September 11 Salt Lake City, UT Complex Outdoors – The Lot
September 13 Bonner, MT KettleHouse Amphitheater
September 14 Boise, ID Ford Idaho Center Amphitheater
September 16 Eugene, OR Cuthbert Amphitheater
September 17 Seattle, WA WaMu Theater
September 21 Paso Robles, CA Vina Robles Amphitheater
September 23 Chula Vista, CA North Island Credit Union Amphitheater
September 24 Irvine, CA FivePoint Amphitheater
September 25 Las Vegas, NV Beach Stage at Mandalay Bay Resort

Current European tour:

August 16 Manchester, England O2 Ritz Manchester
August 17 Birmingham, England O2 Institute Birmingham
August 18 London, England O2 Forum Kentish Town
August 19 Tiverton, England Beautiful Days Festival
August 20 Dublin, Ireland Vicar Street

You can pre-order Anthem on CD in our Rock Cellar store HERE
You can pre-order Anthem on Vinyl LP from our Rock Cellar store HERE

About Joan J. Hernandez

Check Also

Punk rock band PUP welcomed by devoted Sylvee fans The Badger Herald

As a seasoned viewer, I like to notice the relationship between a band and its …