Girl-punk-rock group Reddi wins the 2022 Melodi Grand Prix

Denmark held its Melodi Grand Prix 2022 national selection this evening from the Boxen Arena in Herning.

After almost two hours and eight songs, all the focus was on the girl-punk-rock band Reddi and their song “The Show” which will compete for Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 in Turin.

Three songs from the 8 competing acts qualified for the Superfinal, determined solely by public viewers via app/SMS throughout the week and during the show: Reddi, Conf3ssions and Josie Elinor & Jack Warren. In the Superfinal, it was again entirely the votes of the Danish public that selected Reddi as the winner.

Denmark 2022: Reddi – “The Show”

“The Show” is written by Chief 1, Ihan Haydar, Julia Fabrin, Remee Jackman and Siggy Savery.

Melody Grand Prix 2022

First round



The Girl-Punk-Rock Band Reddi consists of Ihan Haydar (drums), Siggy Savery (lyrics and guitar) and the two Swedish Agnes Roslund (guitar) and Ida Bergkvist (bass). It’s a whole new constellation with the four girls coming from four different musical backgrounds.

Drummer Ihan Haydar was part of the Danish group LIGA and has already been on the Eurovision stage. She was a drummer at Eurovision 2012, when Soluna Samay represented Denmark with “Should’ve Known Better”.

The band are influenced by 70s punk and 80s straight rock, combined with inspiration from 90s names like Pink, Katy Perry and Green Day.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2022

The 2022 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix took place on Saturday March 5 live from the Boxen Arena in Herning.

Voting has already started five days before the show. From Monday February 28 to Friday March 4, people could vote every day for every song in the official DR Grand Prix app. The votes were added to the votes received during Saturday’s broadcast (App/SMS), and the top three songs (Reddi, Conf3ssions and Josie Elinor & Jack Warren) qualified for the Superfinal. Here the votes have been reset and a new vote among the three superfinalists decided the Danish song for the Eurovision Song Contest 2022.

The show was again hosted by Martin Brygmann and Tina Müller.

Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark 2013: Emmelie de Forest – “Only Teardrops”

Denmark has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 49 times. Since its debut in 1957, Denmark have won the competition 3 times:

  • 1963: Dansevise
  • 2000: Fly on the Wings of Love
  • 2013: Only tears
Denmark 2013: Emmelie de Forest – “Only Teardrops”

The worst result was in 2002 (last). Since the introduction of the semi-finals at Eurovision in 2004, Denmark have qualified for the grand final 12 out of 17 times.

About Joan J. Hernandez

Check Also

UM is about to show “Punk Rock Girl!” throughout November – Shelby County Reporter

UM is about to show “Punk Rock Girl!” the whole month of november Posted at …